Introduction



Who we are and what we do

The Provincial Auditor is an independent officer of the Legislative Assembly. The Provincial Auditor reports to the Legislative Assembly on how the Government manages the resources entrusted to it.

The Government delivers its services through about 290 government agencies. These include ministries, Crown corporations, authorities, boards, commissions, and special purpose funds. By reporting the results of our independent audits of all government agencies along with recommendations that focus on improving how these agencies manage public resources, our Office contributes to better government management. For more information about our Office, see http://www.auditor.sk.ca/paweb/aboutouroffice.html.

This report

This volume of our 2010 report covers 131 government agencies, most with March 31 year-ends. Volume 1 of our 2010 report focused on agencies with December 31 year-ends.

The work done by our Office shows that, for the most part, government agencies have adequate controls to manage risks to public resources. This is a significant achievement. Some agencies have fixed or are making progress in fixing previously reported problems. Unfortunately, control problems continue to exist at some agencies and new problems are identified at other agencies. Inadequate controls place public resources at risk. We encourage the Government to address them as quickly as possible.

As discussed in chapters 5 – Education and 21 – Tourism, Parks, Culture and Sport, our Office has been denied access to audit certain accounts related to public money. Because we have been denied access, we are unable to report to the Legislative Assembly on whether the related public money was appropriately safeguarded and that there were no instances of fraud or misuse of public money.

Appointing a new Provincial Auditor

As this volume is being finalized, the Legislative Assembly has undertaken its search for a new Provincial Auditor. Mr. G. Fred Wendel, CMA, CA retired in April 2010 after leading the Office for 10 years.

The appointment process for the Provincial Auditor underscores the independence of the Office. By law, the Legislative Assembly appoints the Provincial Auditor on the unanimous recommendation of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts (PAC), an all-party committee that does not include cabinet ministers. The appointment is for a 10-year term.

Acknowledgments

I wish to acknowledge the work of PAC. The Legislative Assembly refers the reports of our Office to PAC. Through its review of our reports, questions of government officials, and recommendations to the Assembly, PAC provides a vital link in the chain of accountability over public resources. Chapter 24 describes PAC's work and provides a summary of the implementation of its recommendations.

I also wish to acknowledge the co-operation of the many individuals at the agencies we audit, as well as their appointed auditors. Without the assistance of government officials, we would be unable to report on the quality of their management to the Legislative Assembly.

Finally, this Office fulfills its responsibilities through the dedicated efforts of its staff. Their knowledge and commitment make this report possible. A list of staff is set out in the following exhibit.

Brian Atkinson, FCA Acting Provincial Auditor

Exhibit

My colleagues at the Office of the Provincial Auditor for Saskatchewan are:

Ahmad, Mobashar Anderson, Mark Aro, Robert Bachelu, Gaylene Bhat, Venkatesh Birss, Willie Borys, Angèle Clark, Diana Clemett, Tara Deis, Kelly Dickin, Deann Dressler, Nicole Drotar, Charlene Fawcett, Mark Ferguson, Judy Funk, Curtis Grabarczyk, Rod Griffiths, Clinton Halladeen, Aaron Hamilton, Scott Hansen, Melissa Harasymchuk, Bill Heebner, Melanie Heffernan, Mike Hungle, Angie Jensen, Rory King, Mark Knox, Jane

Kress, Jeff Lindenbach, Michelle Lowe, Kim Maynes, Laura McIntyre, Mitchell Mitchell, Heather Montgomery, Ed Nyhus, Glen Ochieng, Jennifer O'Quinn, Carolyn Osayande, Nicole Pattullo, Candice Pituley, Jonathan Rau, Brent Reimer, Stephanie Rybchuk, Corrine Schlamp, Perry Schwab, Victor Shaw, Jason Shorten, Karen Slatnik, Jennifer Sommerfeld, Regan St. John, Trevor Sych, Larissa Tomlin, Heather Volk, Rosemarie Watkins, Dawn Yee, Ken

This page left blank intentionally.